Skip Content
U.S. Flag


Agencies are governmental organizations that include cabinet-level departments, independent bodies, and task forces. Some agencies in the executive branch make rules and regulations, which are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. Under the Congressional Review Act of 1996, the Senate can disapprove agency rules and regulations by passing a joint resolution with the House.

Find an Agency

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies (

Commonly Used Agency Acronyms (GPO-govInfo) (PDF)

Current Cabinet Members (

Rules and Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government. The CFR is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to federal regulation. Each title is divided into chapters that usually bear the name of the issuing agency.

The Federal Register ( is a legal newspaper published every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). It contains federal agency regulations; proposed rules and notices; and executive orders, proclamations, and other presidential documents.

Code of Federal Regulations (1996-Present) (govinfo-GPO)

Federal Register | About (

Review and Comment on Federal Regulations (

Congressional Review Act of 1996

The Congressional Review Act of 1996 established expedited procedures by which Congress may disapprove a broad range of regulatory rules issued by agencies by enacting a joint resolution of disapproval.

Disapproval of Regulations by Congress: Procedure Under the Congressional Review Act (PDF) (CRS)

Related Items

Nominations | President | How to find Executive Communications