Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Women in the Senate


Rebecca Latimer Felton of Georgia, the first woman to serve in the United States Senate, took the oath of office on November 21, 1922. Having been appointed to fill a vacancy on October 3, Felton's official service began on that date but she served only 24 hours after taking the oath. The 87-year-old Felton's largely symbolic Senate service capped a long career in Georgia politics and journalism.

The first woman elected to the Senate was Hattie Wyatt Caraway of Arkansas. Appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the death of her husband, U.S. Senator Thaddeus Caraway, Ms. Caraway then sought and won election on her own in 1932. She was reelected in 1938 and served until 1945.

Name (Party–State)Service Dates
FeltonRebecca L. Felton (D-GA) 1922_1922_01922
CarawayHattie W. Caraway (D-AR) 1931_1945_0 1931–1945
LongRose M. Long (D-LA) 1936_1937_0 1936–1937
GravesDixie B. Graves (D-AL) 1937_1938_0 1937–1938
PyleGladys Pyle (R-SD) 1938_1929v 1938–1939
BushfieldVera C. Bushfield (R-SD) 1948_1948_0 1948
SmithMargaret Chase Smith (R-ME) 1949_1973_0 1949–1973
BowringEva K. Bowring (R-NE) 1954_1954_1 1954
AbelHazel H. Abel (R-NE) 1954_1954_2 1954
NeubergerMaurine B. Neuberger (D-OR) 1960_1967_0 1960–1967
EdwardsElaine S. Edwards (D-LA) 1972_1972_0 1972
HumphreyMuriel B. Humphrey (D-MN) 1978_1978_0 1978
AllenMaryon P. Allen (D-AL) 1978_1978_1 1978
KassebaumNancy L. Kassebaum (R-KS) 1978_1997_0 1978–1997
HawkinsPaula Hawkins (R-FL) 1981_1987_0 1981–1987
MikulskiBarbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) 1987_2017_0 1987–2017
BurdickJocelyn B. Burdick (D-ND) 1992_1992_01992
FeinsteinDianne Feinstein (D-CA) 1992_1992_11992–present
BoxerBarbara Boxer (D-CA) 1993_2017_0 1993–2017
Moseley BraunCarol Moseley Braun (D-IL) 1993_1999_1 1993–1999
MurrayPatty Murray (D-WA) 1993_present_0 1993–present
HutchisonKay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) 1993_2013_0 1993–2013
SnoweOlympia J. Snowe (R-ME) 1995_2013_0 1995–2013
FrahmSheila Frahm (R-KS) 1996_1996_0 1996
LandrieuMary L. Landrieu (D-LA) 1997_2015_0 1997–2015
CollinsSusan M. Collins (R-ME) 1997_present_01997–present
LincolnBlanche L. Lincoln (D-AR) 1999_2011_0 1999–2011
ClintonHillary R. Clinton (D-NY) 2001_2009_0 2001–2009
StabenowDebbie Stabenow (D-MI) 2001_present_0 2001–present
CantwellMaria Cantwell (D-WA) 2001_present_1 2001–present
CarnahanJean Carnahan (D-MO) 2001_2002_0 2001–2002
MurkowskiLisa Murkowski (R-AK) 2002_present_0 2002–present
DoleElizabeth H. Dole (R-NC) 2003_2009_0 2003–2009
McCaskillClaire McCaskill (D-MO) 2007_2019_0 2007–2019
KlobucharAmy Klobuchar (D-MN) 2007_present_0 2007–present
ShaheenJeanne Shaheen (D-NH) 2009_present_0 2009–present
HaganKay Hagan (D-NC) 2009_2015_0 2009–2015
GillibrandKirsten E. Gillibrand (D-NY) 2009_present_0 2009–present
AyotteKelly Ayotte (R-NH) 2011_2017_0 2011–2017
HironoMazie K. Hirono (D-HI) 2013_present_0 2013–present
WarrenElizabeth Warren (D-MA) 2013_present_1 2013–present
FischerDeb Fischer (R-NE) 2013_present_2 2013–present
HeitkampHeidi Heitkamp (D-ND) 2013_2019_0 2013–2019
BaldwinTammy Baldwin (D-WI) 2013_present_3 2013–present
CapitoShelley Moore Capito (R-WV) 2015_present_0 2015–present
ErnstJoni Ernst (R-IA) 2015_present_1 2015–present
Cortez MastoCatherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) 2017_present_0 2017–present
DuckworthTammy Duckworth (D-IL) 2017_present_1 2017–present
HarrisKamala D. Harris (D-CA) 2017_present_2 2017–present
HassanMargaret Wood Hassan (D-NH) 2017_Preseent_3 2017–present
SmithTina Smith (D-MN) 2018_present_02018–present
Hyde–SmithCindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS) 2018_present_12018–present
BlackburnMarsha Blackburn (R-TN) 2019_present_02019–present
RosenJacky Rosen (D-NV) 2019_present_12019–present
SinemaKyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) 2019_present_22019–present
McSallyMartha McSally (R-AZ) 2019_present_32019–present
LoefflerKelly Loeffler (R-GA) 2020_present2020–present