Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Complete List of Secretaries of the Senate

NameTerm of ServiceNote
Samuel Allyne Otis17890408_18140422Apr 8, 1789–Apr 22, 1814The Senate elected Otis as secretary on April 8, 1789, just two days after achieving its first quorum. Otis began immediately to function officially in the office without having taken any oath, but the instance is unique and explained by the fact that at the time there was no oath to administer. The "Act to Regulate the Time and Manner of Administering Certain Oaths" was not signed into law until June 1, 1789 (1 Stat. 23). This law prescribed that the secretary of the Senate take the same oath supporting the Constitution as senators, representatives, and other officers of the Congress. Otis took his oath on June 3, 1789 (Senate Journal, Volume 1, p. 31), and served until his death on April 22, 1814, just four days after the end of the second session of the 13th Congress. When the Senate convened a third session of the 13th Congress on September 19, 1814, it swore into office Chief Clerk Samuel Turner, Jr., as acting secretary. Turner served until Charles Cutts took office the following month.
Charles Cutts18141012_18251212Oct 12, 1814–Dec 12, 1825
Walter Lowrie18251212_18361205Dec 12, 1825–Dec 5, 1836
Asbury Dickins18361213_18610715Dec 13, 1836–Jul 15, 1861
John W. Forney18610715_18680604Jul 15, 1861–Jun 4, 1868
George C. Gorham18680606_18790324Jun 6, 1868–Mar 24, 1879
John C. Burch18790324_18810728Mar 24, 1879–Jul 28, 1881Francis E. Shober (October 25, 1881 to December 18, 1883) was elected Acting Secretary during a special session of the Senate in October 1881. He no doubt would have been relieved of his duties the following December when the 47th Congress convened, but for a quirk of fate, the party lines of that Congress were equally split, 37 Democrats to 37 Republicans. The Senate could not settle on a Secretary, and Shober continued in office for two more years until the 48th Congress, dominated by Republicans, elected a new Secretary.
Anson G. McCook18831218_18930807Dec 18, 1883–Aug 7, 1893
William Ruffin Cox18930807_19000131Aug 7, 1893–Jan 31, 1900
Charles G. Bennett19000201_19130313Feb 1, 1900–Mar 13, 1913
James M. Baker19130313_19130519Mar 13, 1913–May 19, 1919
George A. Sanderson19190519_19250424May 19, 1919–Apr 24, 1925
Edwin Pope Thayer19251207_19330309Dec 7, 1925–Mar 9, 1933
Edwin A. Halsey19330309_19450129Mar 9, 1933–Jan 29, 1945
Leslie Biffle19450208_19470104Feb 8, 1945–Jan 4, 1947Leslie Biffle (January 29, 1945 to February 8, 1945) was first elected Acting Secretary after Halsey's death, and then–about a week later–was chosen Secretary by a subsequent resolution of the Senate.
Carl A. Loeffler19450208_19470104Jan 4, 1947 –Jan 3, 1949
Leslie Biffle19490103_19530103Jan 3, 1949 – Jan 3, 1953Biffle is the only person to be elected Secretary of the Senate for two non–consecutive terms.
J. Mark Trice19530103_19550105Jan 3, 1953–Jan 5, 1955
Felton M. Johnston19550105_19651230Jan 5, 1955–Dec 30, 1965
Emery L. Frazier19660101_19660930Jan 1, 1966–Sept 30, 1966Frazier was elected on August 20, 1965 by a resolution of the Senate which specified that his term commence on January 1, 1966 and terminate on September 30, 1966 (Senate Resolution 140, 89th Congress, 1st session). In order that there be no break in the continuity of the occupancy of the office, Frazier was sworn in on October 22, 1965 (the day before Congress adjourned) even though his period of service was not to start until January 1, 1966 (Senate Journal, Volume 174, page 955). If this step had not been taken, Frazier could not have begun to function officially until Congress reconvened on January 10, 1966. The termination date of September 30, 1966 was specified in the resolution at Mr. Frazier's insistence because of his desire to retire as soon after his 70th birthday (September 24, 1966) as practicable.
Francis R. Valeo19661001_19770331Oct 1, 1966–Mar 31, 1977Valeo was elected on August 20, 1965 by a resolution of the Senate which specified that his term commence on October 1, 1966 (Senate Resolution 140, 89th Congress, 1st session). He was sworn in on September 30, 1966.
J. Stanley Kimmitt19770401_19810104Apr 1, 1977–Jan 4, 1981The elections of Frazier, Valeo, and Kimmitt are three instances where the election of the Secretary did not mark the end of the incumbent's term of service. That is –– Felton Johnston continued in office for over four months after Frazier's election, Valeo's election took place before Frazier even began his service, and Valeo served three months after Kimmitt's election.
William F. Hildenbrand19810105_19850102Jan 5, 1981–Jan 2, 1985
Jo–Anne L. Coe19850103_19870106Jan 3, 1985–Jan 6, 1987Coe was the first woman to serve as Secretary of the Senate.
Walter J. Stewart19870106_19940415Jan 6, 1987–Apr 15, 1994
Martha S. Pope19940415_19950103Apr 15, 1994–Jan 3, 1995
Sheila P. Burke19950104_19950607Jan 4, 1995–Jun 7, 1995
Kelly D. Johnston19950608_19960930Jun 8, 1995–Sept 30, 1996
Gary Lee Sisco19961001_20010711Oct 1, 1996–Jul 11, 2001
Jeri Thomson20010712_20030106Jul 12, 2001–Jan 6, 2003
Emily J. Reynolds20030107_20070104Jan 7, 2003–Jan 4, 2007
Nancy Erickson20070104_20150106Jan 4, 2007–Jan 6, 2015
Julie E. Adams20150106Jan 6, 2015–Mar 1, 2021
Sonceria Ann Berry20210301Mar 1, 2021–present